A tiny hand towards me….

He was crawling near my chair, I could see his tiny fingers trying to get hold of me. The red sweater that I was knitting for him astonished him, and he pulled the wool and tried to run on the ground. I couldn’t resist myself and held him in my arms, “My little Arav, do you want to have cashews?”, he denied and started playing with my big round spectacles, I wished I could cook some cookies for him which my son loved to have when he was a kid. And suddenly he dropped a glass bar kept on the table near my chair and they broke, I was trying to catch hold of him and he jumped from the chair and the shattered pieces of the glass pricked his tiny feet. He started weeping, I ran towards him and slipped, I couldn’t stand on my legs, but, I held him in my arms, pricked out the piece of glass in his feet. His voice had then reached my son and Roshnee, my daughter-in-law, they came running towards Arav, Roshnee pulled Arav from me and applied some ointment on his feet. My son managed in making me sit on the bed, gave me a glass of water, and then went for Arav, trying to make him smile.

Nobody noticed I had had a jerk in my arm. I couldn’t move my arm. They got so busy all together, i felt helpless. I could see my son happy with his small family, was I part of it, I thought, and the night passed by. The next morning again he came crawling towards me, I was in my sleep, when I felt a small tiny hand trying to touch my hurt arm. With his tiny fingers, he tried to relieve me, and I felt connected, connected to life. My son couldn’t connect him with me, but my grandson could. A lot is taught to me even at the ending stage of my life, we urge for something and get upset on not receiving it but there is something which would surprisingly give you much more happiness. The crux of what I felt when those tiny, caring fingers relieved me can not be expressed. It weighed more than the despair I felt when my own son couldn’t feel my pain. Life is unpredictable, don’t mourn on what is being taken from you, but try to grasp and get hold of the tiny hand that wish to ease your pain and bring a small smile on your face.

Leave a comment