From Your Oldest Friend, Pencil

From Your Oldest Friend, Pencil…

ppp

With my slender sleek body you would play for hours,

All your emotions doodling on the floors and walls,

We would travel to the stars and go deep into the oceans,

And then with my edge all over the surface, you would shower rains in the sun,

I was dark and black but could paint your dreams,

And you could erase your wrongs, how cultivating it seemed,

We would revolutionize life,

And would fly like kites, But now I miss your hold,

Sitting alone in a box that is cold…..

You scratched me more and more sharpened I got,

You hurt me more and bolder I got,

And if you held me sleek I shaded your thoughts,

No matter how you treated me, a better you I brought,

And suddenly I realized you are losing my sight,

You are entering an illusionary world which is more than black and white,

And you are losing yourself too in those coloured malls,

Where you spend millions with no satisfaction calls,

I would cost you only a few pennies,

But what magic we created, your fantasies it carried,

I wish you remember me, your old friend,

And wish you would hold me soon, because childhood never ends….

2 comments

Leave a comment